Students from Howell High School will visit the Livingston Libertarians at our February 7th meeting to discuss their recent first place state victory in a “We the People” competition.

The Howell group will represent Michigan in the final competition, and hopes that Libertarians will make a tax-deductible donation or sponsor the April trip to Washington D.C.

“We the People” is a constitutional law class which allows students to compete in a mock congressional hearing to demonstrate their knowledge of the Constitution. The Howell students beat East Grand Rapids on January 11th to clinch the state title.

Howell High School students are state champions for "We the People" competition

Howell High School students are the Michigan state champions for “We the People” competition regarding the Constitution.

“I am very proud of them,” said Howell High School Government Teacher Mark Oglesby. “This is something they can take with them the rest of their lives. They are state champions.”

Szkrybalo said teams have been practicing since early fall, meeting multiple times during the recent holiday break to practice. Many “We the People” alumni from Howell High School have helped the teams prepare for the state finals.

The students sent to Livingston Libertarian chairperson Pam Sanderson, who said that she really hopes that the Libertarians will help the students.

For information about the Livingston Libertarian meeting, click here. For more information about the “We the People” program, see the Howell Schools website or Howell’s We the People website, where you can donate online.

Students involved in “We The People” at Howell High School include:

Unit One: Heather Buja, Brody Kutt, Aaron Osborne
Unit Two: David Grusendorf, Lauren Lomasney, Nicole Trudeau, Jason Wisby
Unit Three: Ashley Carignan, Megan Isom, Jeremy Johnson, Sarah Kenney, Francesca Mettetal, Benjamin Schultz
Unit Four: Katherine Beard, Dillon Higgins, Adam Hukkala, Samantha Rineman, Christina Szkrybalo, Jake Tholen
Unit Five: Michael Beard, Grant Bowman, Jarrid Rector-Brooks, Erika Senecal, Karsyn Textor
Unit Six: Breanne Casper, Nadja Grauer, Abigail Harrington, Andreja Petrulis, Jonathon Reck